The reference desk for online sellers
Codes

Shopify Limits Reference: Variants, Products, Staff and Locations by Plan

Merchants search for a single hard cap on variants and staff accounts when the real limits sit inside plan pricing and theme section code, and this reference lines up what is actually documented against what the market's theme code shows.

Reference · September 13, 2026 · 5 min read · AI-drafted from sourced data

Most merchants who type “shopify variant limit” into a search box expect a single number to appear, the way a cap on staff accounts appears on the pricing page. That number does not surface in the plan pricing text captured here, and it does not appear anywhere in Dawn’s product section code either. What does exist, and what this reference lays out, is the actual staff and cost structure per plan tier, the actual setting count inside the theme files a merchant would touch to change how a product page displays, and the market context for how those themes perform once installed. Treating a variant cap and a staff cap as the same kind of fact is the mistake, and separating them is the point of this article.

The pricing page states staff limits, not variant limits

Shopify’s plan pricing, in EUR and checked September 5, 2026, opens with a trial priced at €1/month for 3 months before regular billing starts. From there the tiers run Basic at €24/mo for solo entrepreneurs, Grow at €69/mo with up to 5 staff accounts, Advanced at €289/mo with up to 15 staff accounts, and Plus starting at €2,100/mo for complex businesses building on everything in Advanced. Transaction fee rates also step down as the tier goes up, moving through the 2%, 8% and 6% plus €0.25 EUR figures printed on the page. None of that text, as captured, contains a per-product variant count. If a store needs more variant flexibility than another store, that constraint is not sitting in this pricing table.

PlanMonthly priceStaff accountsNotes from page text
Trial€1/month for 3 monthsnot statedintroductory offer before regular billing
Basic€24/monot statedfor solo entrepreneurs
Grow€69/moup to 5for small teams
Advanced€289/moup to 15for global reach, live 3rd-party shipping rates
Plusfrom €2,100/monot stated separatelyfor complex businesses, everything in Advanced

Dawn’s product section has 13 settings and none of them count variants

The section a merchant actually edits to change a product page in Dawn is sections/main-product.liquid, labeled t:sections.main-product.name in the theme, and at commit 258f00f dated 2026-08-10 it carries 13 settings and 18 block types. Among the 13: enable_sticky_info is a checkbox, color_scheme picks a color scheme, media_size is a select with 3 options, constrain_to_viewport is a checkbox, media_fit is a select with 2 options, and gallery_layout is a select with 4 options. Every one of those settings governs how the product image gallery and info column sit on the page. None of them reads or writes a variant count, and no setting in the file limits how many variants a product can carry, because the file does not contain one.

The companion section, sections/featured-product.liquid, labeled t:sections.featured-product.name, has 12 settings and 13 block types in the same commit. It includes a product setting to pick which product displays, a color_scheme setting, a secondary_background checkbox, and the same media_size, constrain_to_viewport and media_fit pattern seen in main-product.liquid. Again, nothing in this list touches variant count. The absence is not a gap in documentation, it is what the code shows at this commit, and stating it that way is more useful than implying the setting might exist somewhere unexamined.

Horizon’s cart section governs display, not limits

Horizon’s blocks/_cart-products.liquid, labeled t:names.cart_products, has 14 settings at commit 8b42ace from 2026-08-31. The gap setting is a range from 8 to 36px moving in steps of 4, image_ratio is a select with 3 options, dividers and vendor are both checkboxes, input_style is a select with 2 options, and input_background_color sets a color. These are the controls a merchant reaches for to make the cart rows look denser or spread the vendor name out. None of the 14 settings caps how many line items or variants can sit in a cart, and none of them touches staff permissions either. A search for a variant limit that lands on cart code will find spacing and color, nothing more.

Where theme performance sits, separate from plan tier

Across the market’s 329 themes tracked by the rating aggregate, the median listed price is $300 with a range running $100 to $500, and the average rating sits at 4.53 out of 5 across 308 themes with a median review count of 23. On the performance side, CrUX data for July 2026, which records real visitor sessions rather than a lab run, shows a median of 85.5% of mobile stores passing all Core Web Vitals across 247 themes with sufficient data, with the best theme reaching 98.6% and the worst 46.1%. On desktop the median is 86.2% across 199 themes, the best theme reaches 99.2%, and the worst reaches 30.3%. This spread has nothing to do with which Shopify plan a store runs on, since plan tier is not a field CrUX records, and it is worth keeping the two separate rather than assuming a higher plan buys a faster theme.

Core Web Vitals pass rate, July 2026 CrUX data

Mobile median (85.5%) 85.5%

Mobile best theme (98.6%) 98.6%

Mobile worst theme (46.1%) 46.1%

Desktop median (86.2%) 86.2%

Desktop best theme (99.2%) 99.2%

Desktop worst theme (30.3%) 30.3%

Method: each bar’s length in pixels equals the percentage value times 3, so 1 percentage point of stores passing equals 3px of bar length. Values are CrUX July 2026, mobile n=247 themes, desktop n=199 themes.

Anyone still hunting a single variant-count ceiling should stop looking at pricing pages and theme section files for it, since neither source examined here states one, and instead check the staff account and cost figures by tier before picking a plan. For the product page itself, open main-product.liquid or featured-product.liquid directly if a gallery layout or media display needs to change, because that is what those 13 and 12 settings actually control.

Frequently asked questions

What is the actual Shopify variant limit per product?

Shopify's own plan pricing page, checked September 5, 2026, lists tier names, monthly cost, staff account counts and transaction fee rates for Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus, but the page text captured here contains no variant-count figure at all. Dawn's product section code, at commit 258f00f, also contains no setting that caps or displays a variant count inside main-product.liquid or featured-product.liquid. So a variant limit is not something either the pricing tier or the two Dawn sections examined here expose as a number, and any figure you see quoted elsewhere did not come from these two sources.

How many staff accounts does each Shopify plan allow?

The Grow tier, listed at €69/mo, allows up to 5 staff accounts. The Advanced tier, listed at €289/mo, allows up to 15 staff accounts. Plus, starting at €2,100/mo, is described as covering complex businesses and everything in Advanced, though the captured page text does not give a separate staff number for Plus. Basic, at €24/mo, is described for solo entrepreneurs and its captured text does not list a staff count either.

Does Dawn's product section let me change the gallery layout?

Yes. The main-product.liquid section in Dawn has a media_size setting with 3 options, a media_fit setting with 2 options, and a gallery_layout setting with 4 options, plus checkboxes for enable_sticky_info and constrain_to_viewport and a color_scheme setting. That is 13 settings and 18 block types total in that file, per the Shopify/dawn@258f00f commit dated 2026-08-10. None of those 13 settings touches variant count or staff permissions, because the section only controls layout and display, not account limits.

Where does Horizon's cart section fit into variant or plan limits?

It does not, and that is worth stating plainly. Horizon's blocks/_cart-products.liquid, at commit 8b42ace from 2026-08-31, has 14 settings including a gap range from 8 to 36px in steps of 4, an image_ratio select with 3 options, and checkboxes for dividers and vendor display. These are cart-row display controls, not limits on how many variants a product can carry or how many staff can log in. Anyone landing here searching a variant limit by way of cart code will find display settings only.

Do theme performance scores change with the plan I'm on?

The Core Web Vitals figures here come from CrUX data for July 2026, covering 247 themes on mobile with enough traffic and 199 on desktop, and they measure real visitor sessions against the theme installed, not the pricing plan behind the store. The median share of stores passing all Core Web Vitals is 85.5% on mobile and 86.2% on desktop, with the best theme in the market reaching 98.6% on mobile and 99.2% on desktop, and the worst reaching 46.1% on mobile and 30.3% on desktop. Nothing in that dataset ties to Basic, Grow, Advanced or Plus, since plan tier is not a variable CrUX records.

Sources & data

  1. Shopify pricing page, plan tiers, staff account limits and monthly cost in EUR (checked September 5, 2026)
  2. ThemeScout market rating aggregate across 329 Shopify themes (checked September 4, 2026)
  3. Dawn theme source, sections/main-product.liquid and sections/featured-product.liquid, Shopify/dawn@258f00f (checked September 4, 2026)
  4. Horizon theme source, blocks/_cart-products.liquid, Shopify/horizon@8b42ace (checked September 4, 2026)
Cite this reference: Ecom Almanac (2026). “Shopify Limits Reference: Variants, Products, Staff and Locations by Plan.” https://ecomalmanac.com/codes/shopify-limits-reference-variants-products-staff-and-locations-by-plan/